Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Your Windows Live network explained

with 48 comments

If you’re anything like me then you’ll currently be a bit mystified as to what your Windows Live “network” is and how that relates to Spaces friends, Messenger buddies and Hotmail contacts. I was asking myself questions such as:

  • What’s the difference between people in my network and people on my profile?
  • Are Spaces friends part of my network?
  • Can someone be a messenger buddy without being part of my network or on my profile?

Well, I asked these questions to a developer on the Windows Live team and he very graciously passed on the following very informative diagram:

  Windows Live People
|
+—-Your network
|         |
|         +—– People on your profile (formerly Spaces friends)
|         +—– Messenger contacts (people with whom you share your presence)
|
+—-One-way  contacts (from Hotmail address book)

That certainly makes it a lot clearer. I wanted to draw this as a Venn diagram so downloaded Paint.Net to try and draw one but then impatience got the better of me and I figured I’d just post the above diagram instead – I think it tells us all we need to know. I know a lot of people have been wondering what has happened to Spaces friends in Windows Live Wave 3 so here’s the answer – they haven’t disappeared, just renamed.

Remember, your route into managing your network and contacts is http://people.live.com.

Thank you very very much to the afore-mentioned person that supplied this information – you know who you are!

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

December 7, 2008 at 1:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

48 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for posting this Jamie.

    Dare

    December 7, 2008 at 1:47 pm

  2. So this means, to remove someone from Profile, we can do so by removing them from the address book ?Another question.It seems that my network doesn’t include messenger contacts until I sent invitation to add them to profile, and accepted.

    Seika

    December 7, 2008 at 1:53 pm

  3. Seika,How are you coming to the conclusion that your network doesn’t include your messenger contacts?According to the above info your messenger buddies ARE part of uyour network but that doesn’t mean that their activity will show up on home.live.com. Does that make it any clearer?-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 7, 2008 at 2:35 pm

  4. I got the conclusion because the count of people in my Network (according to the Profile page).For example, I had 29 persons in my Network. Then I sent invitation to a Messenger contact to add him. Then, after he accepted, the number of people in network raised up to 30 persons.So from there, I thought that friends already in Messenger contact list are not automatically counted.

    Seika

    December 7, 2008 at 2:51 pm

  5. Seika,That’s interesting. And it doesn’t compute with the information I’ve passed on above. Hoepfully someone can explain that.-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 7, 2008 at 3:04 pm

  6. Seika, Your network is people on your profile (formerly Spaces friends) + your Messenger contacts. Your profile only shows a subset of your network. Unfortunately, there isn’t a page today that shows your entire network which is part of what makes the network concept confusing today. We will be addressing that in a future release.

    Dare

    December 7, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  7. Dare,I think the confusion stems from the fact that at the top of home.live.com it states: "What’s new with your network". That alludes to it being info about EVERYONE in your network but that’s not actually the case – it precludes people that are messenger buddies but not on your profile.Its the wording of it that creates the ambiguity.-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 7, 2008 at 3:38 pm

  8. Jamie, That is incorrect. It is What’s New with our network since it includes Messenger buddies. In fact, the previous What’s New feature of Spaces which we released last year also included updates from Messenger buddies.

    Dare

    December 7, 2008 at 3:43 pm

  9. Dare,Cheers for the clarification. I *think* I’m clear now – though this little episode demonstrates how confusing it is!-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 7, 2008 at 5:33 pm

  10. Dare,Thanks. Yes, the What’s New in home showed updates by messenger contacts too. That gave the confusion because even so, they’re not named in the profile. If the network in profile is a subset of the whole of my network, it just doesn’t point to that fact. Well, just a misunderstanding, right :D

    Seika

    December 8, 2008 at 3:15 am

  11. Dare,More confusion around this.I saw a message on my What’s New feed just now which said something along the lines of "Nik has updated his profile picture". When I clicked through to Nik’s profile I saw a message: "You’ve invited Nik to be in your network."If I’ve invited him, and you are telling me so, then I assume that Nik hasn’t yet accepted. Why then is he appearing on my What’s New feed?Very confusing!-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 8, 2008 at 9:33 am

  12. Jamie as I related to you via messenger, its all over the place regarding updates! If it was working a la the drawing that you were shown, then everything would be okay and no one would end up being confused! Instead of that we are all getting updates from people who aren’t on our network but are on someones network that IS on our network, so to explain a simple as I can, say you have Fred Blogs on your network. Then Fred Blogs invites Joe Smooth onto his network, you will begin to get Joe Smooths updates even though he is not on your network! This is what is so wrong with it. this Nik will have been accepted onto the Network of someone on your Network! Now do you see what I was prattling on about?

    technogran

    December 8, 2008 at 9:58 am

  13. Dare,Can you confirm that the behaviour that Technogran explains below is actually the case?-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 8, 2008 at 10:01 am

  14. Dare I have a snip that I have taken from my ‘what’s new’ which illustrates this very well, in that it includes the page and a persons info who is not on my network but is on two of my ‘network’ contacts, and I am now receiving all of her ‘what’s new’ stuff on my whats new and via RSS feeds to my Windows Live mail. Tell me where to send this and I will put it up for you.

    technogran

    December 8, 2008 at 11:55 am

  15. Technogran,Put it up on SkyDrive andthen provide a link to it here.-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 8, 2008 at 12:09 pm

  16. technogran,I meant you should post a screenshot of your What’s new feed therefore showing which kind of updates show up.-jamie

    Jamie

    December 8, 2008 at 12:31 pm

  17. I have done. that is my ‘whats new feed. Where do you mean Jamie? Tell me the url.

    technogran

    December 8, 2008 at 12:37 pm

  18. Technogran,Of course you can see their updates, that is because you are on their Profile, and that they have allowed Friends of Friends to see what’s going on in their Profile. This is normal behaviour. It would only be a problem if these people’s updates start occuring on your Windows Live Home What’s New feed.

    John

    December 8, 2008 at 1:02 pm

  19. But where have I managed to get this RSS feed from then that contains all these peoples profiles within it? I went to my home.live.com page and then subscribed to the RSS feed for that, and this is what comes down into Windows Live Mail. It includes not just all of the updates that those on my network are doing, but also these profile pages of people that they accept onto their network. Surely this shouldn’t happen on this RSS feed when it is supposed to be a feed of MY network. You all seem to be missing the whole point here.

    Technogran

    December 8, 2008 at 2:10 pm

  20. To replicate this Jamie, go to your home.live.com, and select your RSS feed. Then view it in Windows Live Mail. See if you also can view others profiles who are not actually in your own network but have joined the network of someone who is.

    Technogran

    December 8, 2008 at 2:12 pm

  21. That is how I took the snip of those profiles! From the RSS feed of my ‘What’s new on your Network’ RSS feed which in Windows Live Mail I have set to display the full website in settings (show articles as web page instead of a summary) or how else would I have been able to get these peoples profiles showing when they are not part of my network? See if it occurs with you Jamie

    Technogran

    December 8, 2008 at 2:26 pm

  22. Technogran,When you receive an RSS item about a network addition, the body of that RSS item contains the new person’s profile. You see the same items as if you had visited that person’s profile directly.

    Russell

    December 8, 2008 at 3:00 pm

  23. well said and very understandable. Thank you.

    Kelly

    December 8, 2008 at 3:15 pm

  24. Is there a one-click way to add people on your profile to messenger contacts?And what is an extended network?

    Rong Kang

    December 9, 2008 at 2:00 am

  25. And what about adding messenger contacts to your profile?

    Rong Kang

    December 9, 2008 at 2:01 am

  26. @ ChewYou can perform these tasks on the profile of the person you want to add. There is a link next to the person’s picture that will allow you to add this person to your profile or Messenger contacts.Your extended network includes everyone that is the network of somebody that is in your network. It’s like a friend of a friend.

    Russell

    December 9, 2008 at 9:20 pm

  27. How do I delete a contact from my Network. I do not want them to see my profile. I have deleted them from my Msn contact list and have set permissions, however, they still appear to see my blogs and comments. It is getting very frustrating and embarrassing to say the least. Please can someone help.

    ahmed

    January 13, 2009 at 11:38 am

  28. Stephanie,I believe I’m right in saying that if you have invited them and their profile is public then you get their updates even if they havent accepted your invite.-Jamie

    Jamie

    May 26, 2009 at 10:17 am

  29. still doesn’t make sense to me.

    Mike

    July 16, 2009 at 4:17 pm

  30. is there anyway to Leave someones network?

    leena

    August 23, 2009 at 4:55 pm

  31. Leena,If you are in someone’s network then they are inherently in yours. You can remove someone from your network and that will remove you from THEIR network.regardsJamie

    Jamie

    August 24, 2009 at 10:08 am

  32. Jamie: sorry but you’re SO wrong! I tougth also, that "by default" I should be removed from an exfriend’s network; I removed him from my network but I STILL SHOW UP in HIS net! This is so complicated… and I’m completely unwilly to contact him and ask to be removed… this is so weird!

    Eva

    August 28, 2009 at 12:15 pm

  33. Here is a perfect example on how useless the system is…Myself > Deletes & blocks ex > this also removes the ex from my network :)But :) turns to :( as im still on her network as she will not block & delete me!so MSN sort this stupid system out & enable us to be removed from others.

    Mike

    September 13, 2009 at 6:20 am

  34. I dont want a netwrok.. I just want messenger with my contacts in, and my email… thats it.. I’m fed up of all this social networking bollocks.. Its just a fake front for people with nothing interesting or significant going on in their real lives. Can’t i just have an email address and a messenger program to give me real time chat to my email contacts and messenger buddies without being in a network or having a live space and all the other bullshit i dont want.. that posting info about me up ona website i didnt know existed.

    Neil

    October 8, 2009 at 5:59 pm

  35. I mean it seems that whatever i do gets posted up on my live space.. Something i dont want and had no idea i had.. I dont even know if people can see it or what. If people can see it it means microsoft are publishing my info i dont want to be published to a freely open access page i didnt know i owned against my wishes.. its absoluteley fucking rediculous.I am not part of this modern trash generation and dont want to be..

    Neil

    October 8, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  36. thanks, okay this makes it a little clearer, but i have people that says in my network but not in profile. what is difference with profile people and messenger contacts. people in my network but not in profile can see my photos.

    THEO

    November 24, 2009 at 9:55 am

  37. I have removed ex from my messenger conttacts and he has removed me………..I have removed him from my windows live network but I still show up on his…..any ideas how to get him off…..

    Maggie

    December 2, 2009 at 8:55 pm

  38. thanks Stuart, your eloquent opinions are most welcome.

    Jamie

    December 10, 2009 at 11:05 pm

  39. Here’s one for ya, how come I show up in me own network?Seriously! Doesn’t bother me as it doesn’t interfere with anything. Just thought it was well weird!

    Jen

    December 10, 2009 at 11:28 pm

  40. I have someone in my network and on windows live, if i block them will my profile still show up as being in there network?

    Amelia

    January 20, 2010 at 12:44 pm

  41. How can we delete Networks?

    ToliS

    February 20, 2010 at 3:48 pm

  42. I want to delete someon my network but i dont know how to do it… can someone help me? my email is kaylagetzin123@live.com

    Kayla

    March 1, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  43. Heey everyone, I found the solution to mine problem: how to delete people from your network! Just add the contact to messenger, then go to messenger, and delete the contact from both messenger and Windows Live Hotmail! Hope this helps ;)!Marko

    Marko

    June 1, 2010 at 1:43 pm


Leave a Reply

