Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Calendar and mobile fallacy on windowslive.com

with 10 comments

I have just been browsing around http://www.WindowsLive.com and happened to notice the following on the Calendar page (http://windowslive.com/Online/Calendar/posts)

get started with live calendar

Its the “works great with mobile” bit that irks me because, in my experience, if there’s one Windows Live property that doesn’t work on mobile even the slightest little bit….its Calendar.

 

Am I missing something?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

December 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have to admit that I do not have the need to use the calendar that much but I have also given up on Windows Live mobile. It worked okay with a Windows Mobile device but I don’t have the need or cash to inest in one of those… On my Razr it’s just unusable. That I get my calendar reminders via SMS is enough for me at this point.

    John

    December 22, 2008 at 2:50 pm

  2. Jamie,I love reading your blogs. Always informative. However, I think in this case they have created confusion with "Works Great with… Mobile" because it is unrelated to the content about it which relates to getting started with Calendar. As you have metioned and we all know, currently Windows Live doesn’t do Calendars! I’ve written to the team until I’m blue in the face and they just say they will bring my suggestions to the Mobile Live Team. What a huge gape for Windows Live to have ignored all of us that are on our Windows Mobile phones as much as we are on our laptops. We need to be able to email (check), blog Spaces (check), Keep up with news (via MSN Mobile – Check), send and receive meeting appointments (NO CHECK).Let’s all keep up the pressure on the Live Team in hopes that they put some energy toward delivering Mobile Live Calendar!

    Calvin

    December 22, 2008 at 2:57 pm

  3. Calvin,Amen to that!

    Jamie

    December 22, 2008 at 3:00 pm

  4. Keep in mind that Windows Mobile today does not support more than one calendar store. Until that limitation is remedied in future versions of Windows Mobile…I wouldn’t look for Calendar support other than say a browse vs. client solution.

    Paul

    December 22, 2008 at 6:47 pm

  5. Let’s all just wait and see what happens with Windows Mobile 7 😉

    Ryan

    December 22, 2008 at 6:52 pm

  6. Roger that Jamie…

    John

    December 22, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  7. Calvin brought it up… :)

    Paul

    December 22, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  8. oh go on then..I’ll let you off!! :)

    Jamie

    December 22, 2008 at 7:24 pm

  9. I can’t even view my Live Calendar in my WM 6.1 browser. It says my browser, which works with millions of non Microsoft sites and is a Microsoft product, won’t work with Live Calendar. "What are you doing Thursday?" "Oh let me drive home to look in Outlook." "You can’t view it on your phone?" "No I have all Microsoft products, but unfortunately I entered my schedule in Live Calendar." "Doesn’t your phone sync with Outlook’s calendar?" "Yes, accept for the new improved Live Calendar." "Can’t you view web pages on your phone?" "Yes, accept for Live Calendar. They made it so that it doesn’t work with IE mobile."

    Mark

    April 10, 2009 at 5:15 am


Leave a Reply

