Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Laundry list of wants for Windows Live wave 4

with 43 comments

A few days ago I published a blog entry What’s next in Windows Live wave 4 where I threatened to publish a list of features I would like to see implemented in the next version of Windows Live; here is that list. I’m putting this up here mainly for my own interest so I can look back and compare when wave 4 does hit the street but I admit I do enjoy writing these lists and I invite you to to take a read and let me know what you think.

Groups

Live Groups entered the fray with a very fledgling offering in wave 3 and in wave 4 I hope to see it mature into a real thoroughbred collaboration suite. Here are the features that I would like to see:

  • Discussions need to be threaded. At the moment a discussion just appears as a list of posts in chronological order; I would prefer it if a new post appeared immediately below and indented from the post that it is in reply to. This feature is loosely termed threaded discussions.
  • If I hit "reply" rather than "quote" on a discussion thread then I can’t see the post that I’m replying to. I would like to be able to see it as I compose my reply.
  • Windows Live Mail should be an offline reader for Group discussions just like it is for NNTP newsgroups today. I don’t care if Group discussions are exposed via NNTP or not (though that’s one possible solution) – I just want to see this delivered.
  • I’d really like to see a version of Groups optimised for a mobile phone. Currently Groups is conspicuous by its absence from http://mobile.live.com
  • It would be nice if each group had an option to have a wiki. (If you don’t know what a wiki is go and read about them on the most famous wiki of all : Wiki on Wikipedia)
  • Starting a new discussion is a 2-click process. I would like to see a "Start new discussion" link on the group home page.
  • I’d like to a see a browsable catalogue of Groups. I want to search for Groups that interest me and see the most active ones that are available for me to join. This suggests that maybe there should be a chart of popular Groups.
  • I’d like Messenger to become a proper chatroom client for Groups – hence I’d like the current 20-person limit to be lifted.
  • Getting information out of Groups is pretty hard right now, at the minimum I’d like to see an RSS feed of new discussion threads.
  • I only see notifications in my What’s New feed if someone posts a new thread in one of my Groups, I don’t see notifications of replies to threads. I’d like that to change. I am told by people at Windows Live that the reason this wasn’t implemented in wave 3 was that they didn’t want a person’s What’s New feed to become filled with endless notifications if a thread had (say) 15 new posts. Fair point but there’s an easy solution; instead of sending me 15 notifications just send me one notification saying “This discussion thread has had 15 replies”.
  • Following on from my January 2008 blog entry Windows Live Groups predictions and "Active directory in the cloud” I’d like to see a Groups API introduced that enables Windows Live and Groups to become a massively distributed Access Control List system and that enables us to plug Live Groups features into our own sites. This is something I’ve been banging on about to anyone from Microsoft that will listen for a long while now and it warrants a follow-up post of its own so look out for that in the next few weeks.
  • It takes 3 clicks to get to one of my groups; once on "More" in WL Header, once on "Groups" then once more on the name of the group at groups.live.com. How about have a submenu under More–>Groups that lists all the groups I am a member of that I can browse by hovering over.
  • I’d like to have the option to make a Group calendar publicly available.
  • Reputation is important in discussion forums so I’d like to see the same introduced in Live Groups. The more activity you do, the higher reputation you get.
  • The discussion forum should have more features allowing us to mark threads as questions or general discussion and mark answers appropriately. Basically they should ape the new MSDN discussion forums which are really bloody good it must be said.
  • We are told when the last reply to a discussion thread occurs but we’re not told who it was written by. Seems like a glaring omission to me. If I know that I wrote an entry on a thread fairly recently there’s no way of knowing who has since replied without actually going into the thread and scrolling to the bottom of it.
  • Give the group owner the option to let search engines crawlers into the group (using robots.txt) so that the group can be found on those search engines.
  • Allow each group have a publicly-available page and give the group owner the choice of what appears on it, thus enabling the group to be crawled by search engines.
  • Ability to delete one of your own posts from a discussion thread.
  • I would like to see a Group set up automatically for anyone that uses http://domains.live.com. For example, imagine you create a domain for your local amateur dramatics society (@mytwownamateurdramatics.com), it would be nice for all people in that society to have some to congregate and collaborate.
  • I would like the breadcrumb trail to include a link to my list of all groups at http://groups.live.com
  • I would like the breadcrumb trail to behave just like the breadcrumb trail in Vista’s Window Explorer where clicking on a ► would show a list of all objects at that level in the hierarchy (I’d like that done for all breadcrumbs across Windows Live actually).
  • Allow us the ability to add web activities to a Live Group. These wouldn’t be the same as web activities on http://profile.live.com however, instead they would allow us to build activity feeds of content pertinent to the group. For example, http://gettanked.groups.live.com/ (a Scuba Diving group) could pull in activity from http://search.twitter.com/search?q=scuba. (talked about here: Web activities for Live Groups)

Writer

  • I would like to be able to browse a catalogue of Writer add-ins from within Writer itself rather than having to go to http://gallery.live.com (or have Scott tell me about them).
  • I would also like my dictionary (i.e. words I use that aren’t in Writer’s dictionary) to be synced across different machines where I have Writer installed. This is something I’ve spoken about at length before as well at Online word list is a prime target for SaaS which I wrote long before Live Mesh was with us but now that it is its an obvious solution to this problem.

Messenger

  • Something else I’ve asked for before. I’d like my Messenger conversations to be stored on the Mesh. Syncing my conversations folder using Mesh folder share just doesn’t cut the mustard as I explain at More on storing Messenger conversations on the Mesh.
  • I’d like to see more activities related to other Windows Live properties. For example I could use an activity window to browse my skydrive, share a file with the person I’m conversing with, and put a link to the file straight into the conversation window. Or how about being able to browse my list of Spaces posts and share a link to one of them with my friend. I think there’s lots of possibilities here.
  • If I hide someone’s updates from my What’s New feed then I want them to be hidden from Messenger as well. They are not hidden today.
  • I work for a consultancy where our people regularly move around different offices. Many of my work colleagues use Messenger’s Personal Status Messenger to show where they are and hence their PSM is usually one of a finite list of possible values. It would be handy if Messenger provided the ability to store a list of "possible PSMs" or "PSMs you have used before" thus easily allowing us to chop and change our PSM. Probably the easiest way to do this would simply be for Messenger to remember all our previous PSMs and, as we type a new one, filter the list of previously used PSMs in a similar way to how Google Suggest works.

Spaces

  • I would like to be able to edit my spaces comments as well as delete them
  • Our blog entry URLs need to be human readable rather than some nonsensical code (read more: Positive movement on Windows Live URLs)
  • I would like a place where I could go to see all public Spaces blog posts; a bit like Twitter’s public timeline but for blog posts.
  • I’d like to be notified when someone creates a trackback to one of my blog posts.
  • Automatically create a trackback if I reference another blog on Live Spaces

Photos

Windows Live Photo Gallery and http://photos.live.com are great properties today (I especially love Photo Gallery) but I can’t help feeling that Microsoft can make them much much better still – there’s loads of opportunity here.

  • Photos.live.com should aggregate and allow us to view a slideshow of all photos of a particular person. There should be a link to this slideshow from that person’s profile (if they choose to have it there) (Update, 1st July 2009: They delivered this in the Spring 2008 update.)
  • I’d like to be able to geo-tag my photos using Virtual Earth in Live Photo Gallery before uploading them to Windows Live.
  • Most  photos record when they were taken and increasingly they record WHERE they were taken as well. I’d like to be able to view all of my geo-tagged photos from http://photos.live.com on a Virtual Earth map and view those photos in a geo-aware timeline. There are some interesting visualisation possibilities there.
  • If photos are geo-tagged then it should be possible to take a collection of different people’s photos of famous landmarks and build a Photosynth collection from them.

Home

  • Real-time updates. I’d like to see the What’s new feed update in real-time without me having to refresh the page, just like the Friendfeed now does (this item was added after this blog entry was first posted – added in April 2009)
  • I want to see more Microsoft properties push information into our What’s New feed via web activities. Zune, XBox, Popfly, MSN Video, MSDN bookmarks & Photosynth are obvious examples of properties that could do this but there are a tonne more.
  • Web activities are pretty cool but not all information from 3rd party sites makes it through to our What’s new feed. For example, if I add a favourite song on iLike and make a comment on it only the song makes it through to my What’s New feed; the comment does not. I’d like to see that comment there as well.
  • I’d like the information in our What’s New feed to become richer with media. Take the iLike example – if someone tags a song on iLike and I see it in my What’s New feed I’d like to be able to click on the song and hear a sample from it without leaving http://home.live.com. Similarly I’d like people to be able to listen to the songs that I like as well.
  • If I post a comment on the Spaces blog of someone that is not in my network then I will never know if they reply to it so its pretty hard for conversations to occur in there. I’d like notifications in my What’s New feed if someone replies to a blog entry that I have commented on (and I’d want the ability to unsubscribe from these notifications as well).
  • Federated access to 3rd party sites so that I can opt to have less-publicly available information appear on my What’s New feed. For example, “Jamie bought <some book> from Amazon.com”.

Toolbar

  • The new toolbar has a cool new ability to view your Live Calendar without actually having to visit the web page but currently it only shows events from the current day (and it doesn’t always show all of them). I would like the option to see my agenda there instead
  • I’d like to be able to swap between my Linked Live IDs

Calendar

  • I would like to be able to view my Live Calendar on a mobile phone. This might just be numero uno on my priority list actually.
  • We need the ability to import .ics files to our Live Calendar (Update, 1st July 2009: You can already do this – click on the ‘Subscribe’ button)

Profile

  • Every person’s profile has a link to their photo albums, even if they don’t have any photos. What’s the point in that? If they don’t have any photos don’t show me the link!!!
  • Can you give us up and down arrows (or even drag and drop) in order to change the order of things in our favourite lists? Just changing numbers is a bit simplistic.
  • It would be better if we had the option of syncing up with our favourite artist list in Zune Social rather than having to enter the same info again.
  • I’d like the option to share my location (as provided by my GPS-enabled phone) with my network (or subset thereof). This would be an incredibly useful feature and has many potential uses. (Update, 1st July: Google have since implemented this with their release of Google Latitude)

People

  • I can see the invites I’ve sent out to people to join my network but I can’t remove the invite. I’m still seeing invites I sent years ago – not much use now. Can you allow us to rescind invites please?
  • Its a bit of a chore to remove someone from my network. I have to visit "People’ and do it from there. Why can’t I just have the option to remove them from wherever I see their profile picture? Or why not when I visit someone’s profile and see the message "XXX is in your network" give me the option to remove them.
  • My Zune Social, XBox Live and Popfly friends should automatically appear in appropriately named categories.

Mail

  • Opening a calendar appointment (i.e. an .ics file) should open up the appointment in Live Mail and allow me to choose which calendar to add it into.
  • I’d like to see Writer’s crop feature in Mail as well.
  • Ability to sort emails by conversation would be nice, as would the ability to find related messages.

Hotmail

  • I’d like to have the option to save email attachments to my Skydrive.
  • Same as Mail, ability to sort emails by conversation would be nice, as would the ability to find related messages.
  • Whenever you send a reply to a message you get a page offering you the option to "return to message". I’m a very keen pruner of my inbox hence I often return to the message just to delete it hence it would be nice if there were a "delete the message" option on that page as well. It would save me a mouse-click.
  • I want to be able to navigate through my mail using just keyboard shortcuts. Just like you-know-who.

Other

  • This isn’t really something that anyone at Microsoft has much power over but given their very chummy relationship with Facebook I’d like to be able to login to Facebook with my Windows Live ID.
  • Some news, ANYTHING, about Live Alerts would be nice. We know its not going away because its going to be used extensively by Windows Azure so why has nothing changed there for so long?
  • Windows Live for Windows Mobile isn’t a very impressive product right now and its ripe for improvement. I’d like to see support for multiple LiveIDs (perhaps via our Linked Live IDs), a calendar client and a groups client. Perhaps even give us a way of viewing our What’s New feed offline on our phone.

That’s it. That’s my list. I don’t think I’ll even get a quarter of what I’m asking for here but its nice to dream! I’ll be adding to it over the coming months I’m sure.

What’s on your list?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

January 9, 2009 at 11:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I signed up for Windows Live for only one reason: The come-on promised the ability to make panoramic pictures. So how does one do panoramic pictures? It’s either not available, or buried somewhere. I think that sucks.

    Lee

    January 10, 2009 at 3:24 am

  2. Well for now – Just the fonts and font color on the bar in writer! Right now it buried!But you have a really nice list here!

    Michael

    January 10, 2009 at 3:35 am

  3. MAN U GOTTA TURN OF THE COMPUTER 4 A BIT MABY DO YA OWN LAUNDRY U MUST HAVE SOME TIME SPARE TO WRIGHT SUCH A BIG ASS LIST

    Unknown

    January 10, 2009 at 4:00 am

  4. Windows Live for Windows Mobile is pretty weak. I think it partially has to do with the way Windows Mobile is designed. There still inconsistencies. Like on the Wave 3 bar, "Mail" takes you to Hotmail, not Windows Live Mail. I’m really surprised how fast the beta went. Good list for Groups.

    Sammy

    January 10, 2009 at 9:19 am

  5. Nice list.

    Dare

    January 10, 2009 at 2:11 pm

  6. Spaces needs way more features… too many to list here. Hotmail needs to be much faster still, better account and permission management.

    crestind

    January 11, 2009 at 4:58 am

  7. Great feedback and a nice wish list for future releases. Thanks very much for sharing this and we’ll try to spread it far and wide among the teams planning the next versions.

    Marcus

    January 13, 2009 at 2:50 pm

  8. why do contacts keep coming on to the computer when their are sitting next to you

    efney

    January 15, 2009 at 2:39 am

  9. love the list but i think it needs a little touch up will do but great job

    makayla

    January 21, 2009 at 1:09 am

  10. Why isn’t this person working for Microsoft? They seem to have a lot of very good ideas. Also, a response to "No-Name"- "Maby" you ought to spend a bit more time educating yourself in general. Your note showed a considerable lack of education.

    robin

    January 21, 2009 at 5:41 am

  11. Messenger: -Sharing Folders? Where did they go in the windows live beta?-Open two messenger accounts/processes at once without using a third party addon of which I will not mention (i.e., one for work, one for personalGeneral: -Allow us to upgrade from @hotmail to @live!!! The @live portals are generally better and the @hotmail portals are fading. -Sign in assistant could/should work better in FirefoxAs Tim K wrote: "Add more status capabilitys, not just "Music: Now Playing" but Videos, Games (especially on xbox live) and maybe even Office (eg. "Writing word document" )" This could be expanded indeed. I’ve already seen some linux users have a script /preconfigured status message, but yes it should definitely have more than just music. It should take the following order or precedence: 1. Playing Game (Insert Game name via executable detection – first instance of a game takes the message) or perhaps synchronization with Xfire. Xbox Live syncrohization is currently OK.2. Watching Movie (Insert Movie name – regardless of whether it’s a Flash movie, Windows Media Player, iTunes, WinAMP, media player classic, Quicktime, etc… – First instance of a movie takes the message3. Custom Message Slot for "Working"- Working on (project – 50 character unicode text field) using (choose from applications running and/or ask user to abbreviate it)4. MusicPersonal Message (now Quick message) should be separate I *do* like the linearization of the status system, and thank Microsoft for doing that. It’s much cleaner. There should still be a Away (Idle) subset of Away, imo"Windows Live for Windows Mobile isn’t a very impressive product right now and its ripe for improvement. I’d like to see support for multiple LiveIDs (perhaps via our Linked Live IDs), a calendar client and a groups client. Perhaps even give us a way of viewing our What’s New feed offline on our phone."Indeedm.live.com works okay even on the iPhone using Safari, but Microsoft should develop an application for the iPhone and blackberry even though we aren’t MS operating systems. However last time I had a MS Mobile phone, the MSN application was less impressive than the web version, which was sad.

    Jordan

    January 31, 2009 at 2:49 pm

  12. groups – discussions should be able to be viewed in either Blog URLS? how about RSS feedsSpaces – * Favorite things – To Add o Anime? o TV Shows o Series (This makes the most sense for when you’ve followed an entire series of something) o Custom Favorites o Favorite Websites (Top 10 only) * Web Activities o More Custom "Blog" Slots (RSS/Atom tickers – INSERT More of these on your space and not just one?) o Other profile links like google

    Jordan

    January 31, 2009 at 4:18 pm

  13. Nice…and obviously exhaustive list.Some additions:Live Profile Favorites should allow me to use my Amazon.com Associates ID just like Live Spaces. If someone buys a book, song, or video I’m recommending, I want to get the payment for that.Where are the apps, facebook, myspace, and iPhone are took off because of the custom apps you can build. The Live Gallery really doesn’t bring the bling bling to Live Spaces, Live Profile, Live Groups, or any other Live entity. We need more custom applications.Live Spaces needs to be open to professional customization. For people with the level of expertise needed to build their own blog, there should be plenty of opportunity to do so. There should also be an ability to give other folks the chance customize your Live Space without giving them your account access rights to do so.Live Spaces needs to support multiple authors…or let Live Groups publish a blog together.Live Spaces should incorporate an easy way to deliver podcasts using SkyDrive as a storage for both video and audio streaming with Silverlight Services. A lot of the tools to do so should be apart of Live Essentials with Photo Gallery, Movie Maker, and Writer…an integrated experience similar to Adobe Pro products.You are right on the money with Live Mobile. That should be a first class experience like Outlook Mobile/Office Mobile is.

    HIGHERINNOV8ION

    April 23, 2009 at 10:45 pm

  14. You can import an ics to calendar.live.com by clicking on the Subscribe button. It will give you the option to import or subscribe.

    Kyle

    June 30, 2009 at 9:23 pm

  15. Kyle,Very true, thanks for that.-Jamie

    Jamie

    June 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm

  16. Fully customisable Homepage. I have linked stuff on mine and I can’t find out (remember!) how I put it there: for instance, Daily Quote from Encarta, which needs removing as the whole of Encarta is about to be blitzed. Don’t want dead links on Homepage.

    Jen

    June 30, 2009 at 10:38 pm

  17. I love reading what other people have to suggest in order to help Spaces evolve to a better service. I would love to see some of the gadgets currently available to US residents also available for Canadian users. ie. Weather and stock quote modules are not available. WHY? Having ‘MORE’ listed twice on certain pages in Spaces is redundant and confusing to new users. I teach this on a weekly basis to people and they are confused when I ask them to click on More and they ask which more?Any word on when we might see WAVE 4 surfacing?

    Rob

    July 1, 2009 at 2:52 am

  18. Jamie an absolute brilliant list as always! Only thing you have missed out is you haven’t made any mention of bringing Spaces bang up to date. Wouldn’t you love to see Spaces get new themes, new layouts, ability to customise your own header (as you can do in Live Messenger i.e use a pic from you computer for example) put your Avatar pic in the header, customizable tags under the header for one click navigation to (for example) All about me (profile) Lists.Favourite things, photos, etc. new fonts, new colours of fonts and sizes, rounded modules, etc.

    technogran

    July 1, 2009 at 7:33 am

  19. Hi TG,Thanks for that.Honestly? No, I don’t yearn for any of those things. As you know I’m not a heavy user of Spaces any more other than using it purely as a place to blog.-Jamie

    Jamie

    July 1, 2009 at 8:01 am

  20. But isn’t that enough Jamie? Wouldn’t you like to be able to make your blog page look like the rest of your Windows Live experience by being able to use the same themes throughout? Or put your Avatar pic up in the header? Make it look more professional in appearance? I know I would, and it was badly neglected in Wave 3.

    technogran

    July 1, 2009 at 9:18 am

  21. No mention of bringing back Recently Updated Spaces in here or am I just sounding like a broken record?

    Sean

    July 1, 2009 at 9:37 am

  22. Sean,"I would like a place where I could go to see all public Spaces blog posts; a bit like Twitter’s public timeline but for blog posts."There’s your mention of "Recently Updates Spaces".-Jamie

    Jamie

    July 1, 2009 at 9:52 am

  23. TG,No, I couldn’t care less what my Space looks like because I never (ok, hardly ever) actually visit it. I know other people do care about what their Space looks like and can understand why you want those sort of features.-Jamie

    Jamie

    July 1, 2009 at 9:58 am

  24. @ Jamie, thats not what I call "bringing back" Recently Updated Spaces. We already have tools for finding blogs. I can do that with Google mate, and get a huge list. Recently updated Spaces had a special attribute where people visited your space and it showed in your Statistics who it was, so you could return the visit! With the introduction of wave 3, people can no longer visit from Space top Space the way they used to. Now we go from Home to Profile and then to space. In other words I’m getting a visit from myself about 5 times per day.I read every comment on this blog including yours. I like your idea very much but it doesn’t solve the problem of the Statistics links.

    Sean

    July 1, 2009 at 10:09 am

  25. Can’t wait till wave 4 TG, I’ll be back at this blog to see how much was done!

    Sean

    July 1, 2009 at 10:12 am

  26. Sean,Ok, I gotcha. I thought you just wanted to view a list of Spaces that had recently been updated. My mistake.Personally I think there should be such a thing at http://spaces.live.com which (I think) is where the "recently updates spaces" could be viewed prior to wave 3.-Jamie

    Jamie

    July 1, 2009 at 10:16 am

  27. Ok you are confusing me now. I’m not sure if you are just being sarcastic or not. Spaces are used for more than just Blogs, they are personal websites. More than just a blog.We already have a place we can go to view a public list of Recently Updated Spaces. It’s called the "Changes" page . Here is the URL > http://spaces.live.com/changes.aspxThere is another one called Windows Live Vision that you can access from MSN UK Which isn’t too bad but its slow and even though it offers almost real time Updates, it’s slow and only provides only a few Spaces to view before resetting and showing the same Spaces again with maybe one new one added in. Find this page here > http://specials.uk.msn.com/livespacesvisionSo we already have these things but they are no longer part of spaces. I do remember we had a module on our Space as well as the Spaces home page before wave 3 that had the real Recently Updated Spaces. It was only a small list of 4 or 5 but very effective at connecting people and spaces.

    Sean

    July 1, 2009 at 10:56 am

  28. Sean,No, definitely not being sarcastic. I wasn’t aware of http://spaces.live.com/changes.aspx which is very interesting (although unfortunately not in a recognised format – but that’s no biggie).I completely agree that Live Spaces is much more than a blogging platform, it just so happens that the blogging part of it is the only bit I am interested in. That’s just me.Still confused? :)-Jamie

    Jamie

    July 1, 2009 at 11:10 am

  29. lol, no. I used the changes feed to create my own Recently Updated Spaces module on Sean’s Bloody Spot (my Windows Live Space) I found out later that Spaces Vision also used the Changes Page to create their RUS. Just got to Copy & Paste the links into your browser to see the Space you want to view. You will find that they are all in your own region too. I get Aussie Spaces. So close, yet so far :(

    Sean

    July 1, 2009 at 11:17 am

  30. Sean, you think everyone is being sarcastic. I think Jamie’s pretty clear; it’s true that you can use your Space for other things, but Jamie is only interested in using it as a place to host his blog. Look at Jamie’s Space. It’s just a pass through to his blog. He has no modules other than visitor tools and his blog.The changes page is unformatted XML; hardly fit for public consumption. It’s probably designed to be a data feed for something else, such as the Recently Updated Spaces gadget or customized mashups like WL Vision.

    Greg

    July 1, 2009 at 11:30 am

  31. Greg,Is the term "unformatted XML" is an oxymoron? :)I think that Sean’s point is that the data is available hence it enables someone to build a richer experience on top of that data.-Jamie

    Jamie

    July 1, 2009 at 11:38 am

  32. Cor! There’s a new one. Spaces Vision? Where’d you find that, Sean?

    Jen

    July 1, 2009 at 11:38 am

  33. @ Jamie – Hmmm. XML is definitely structured, but I wouldn’t call a hierarchy of nodes a "format" (at least not one that I’d want to read). You’re absolutely right, though, with enough spit, grit, and sticktoitiveness, someone could build their own interactive RUS gadget with that feed.

    Greg

    July 1, 2009 at 11:41 am

  34. Just been to "Vision". Totally useless! Can’t view anything for my area. It keeps jumping back out to USA.

    Jen

    July 1, 2009 at 11:45 am

  35. I agree with notification on trackbacks. Would help me be a bit more proactive about link spamers.

    Brent

    July 1, 2009 at 6:53 pm

  36. @ Jen, Greg pointed out the link for Spaces Vision in Live soapbox group. The Changes Page is the one that shows Updated Spaces in your own region. I agree with you Jen that Vision has limited functionality.

    Sean

    July 1, 2009 at 10:02 pm

  37. @ Greg, now your just starting to offend me, lay off will you. Sorry mate but your wrong, I dont think that everyone is being sarcastic at all. I was just confused by the way that Jamie Worded his response to my comment. I can plaily see how Jamie has his Space set out because I’m here arn’t I? Also, Jamie has made it quite clear how he uses his Space a couple of times already, both here and in Live Soapbox, he doesn’t need you to tell others for him.

    Sean

    July 1, 2009 at 10:12 pm

  38. That is a nice list you have there, I would like to see more additions to Windows Live Spaces, especially; keep up the good work.

    John

    September 28, 2009 at 3:12 am

  39. Great list!

    Charles

    February 14, 2010 at 1:52 am

  40. You wrote this over a year ago, and yet the devs of hotmail are completely ignoring you and all of us. Did the devs quit? Do they exist?

    Achal

    February 15, 2010 at 7:54 pm

  41. I can’t use it due to system requirements, but Windows Live Movie Maker should have a time-line or at lease an advanced view mode. Currently, it’s simple for novice users yes, but for more in depth editing, please add a time-line.

    Cameron

    February 22, 2010 at 7:44 pm

  42. Jamie, just running through this Wishlist that you made last year. Last year, it seems an age ago! Makes for some interesting reading ( as do the comments from users who read it!) Wonder how many of your wishes will come true! We shouldn’t have long to wait now (hopefully!)

    technogran

    March 1, 2010 at 8:46 am

  43. Like most people writing about Windows Live Movie Maker, I would like the re-introduction of a proper horizontal timeline. The number of bloggers who have asked for this feature must be in the thousands by now. In an age where almost everyone has a widescreen monitor, a vertical storyboard that can’t effectively represent time seems like a massive step back.I also wonder if MSFT can revisit the "Live" name. I’ve met dozens of people (mostly XP people on the cusp of converting to W7) who think "Live" programs are "cloud" based, and are therefore completely indifferent. Given that you have to go out of your way to download them, indifference can’t be good.

    C.

    March 1, 2010 at 7:33 pm


Leave a Reply

