Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

WL Mail – Credit where credit is due

with 9 comments

In my various travels around the web it seems as though Windows Live Wave 3 has been generally well received although one product that I have seen come in for some rather negative criticism has been Windows Live Mail; one of the chief complaints being that bugs haven’t been fixed.

I have to be honest and say I don’t know of any bugs from the previous version that still exist in the wave 3 version (which isn’t to say that there aren’t any) but I do know of one bug that used to really annoy me but has seemingly been fixed in the latest version. The bug in question was when one sends an email from WL Mail and then move the mail from his/her Sent Items folder, syncing the offline mail store with Hotmail in the cloud would cause the sent email to reappear in Sent Items. In other words, a particular edge case in the syncing procedure wasn’t getting handled correctly.

Happily I haven’t seen this re-occur since I’ve been using WL Mail from wave 3 so I presume that the bug has been fixed. I wanted to point this out because its very easy to slag a product team off when one does not get what one wants but rarely do product teams get praised when one DOES get what one wants; that’s the stuff that goes unnoticed. When stuff works you take it for granted; and because I build IT systems myself in my day job I know how easily bugs can occur. Perhaps I should remember that next time I’m going off on a tirade (though I probably won’t).

That is all.

-Jamie

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, story, mail

Written by Jamiet

January 13, 2009 at 10:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, like said, “when the danger is over, even God is forgotten”Personally, I almost never met any software bug. Maybe because I never get to use the software in unexpected ways.

    Seika

    January 13, 2009 at 10:50 am

  2. Only problem I have found so far is that it still doesn’t update RSS feeds automatically as you set it to (in my case every 15 minutes) and any rules that you create for News groups still don’t work as they should, I always have to apply it manually (in my case when a post is more than 5 days old, delete it) I haven’t checked the problem of sending photos inside your e-mail yet to see if that little problem has been sorted with IE8. Been too busy sorting out my stuff with a clean install of Windows 7.

    Technogran

    January 13, 2009 at 12:34 pm

  3. The Mail application is an absolute gem as far as I’m concerned. The only thing is I wish it would link in with Windows Live Calendars…

    Steven

    January 14, 2009 at 6:57 pm

  4. Steven,In wave 3 it does.-Jamie

    Jamie

    January 14, 2009 at 7:10 pm

  5. But no support for calendar tasks. That’s not quite an epic fail, but it’s a fail nonetheless.

    Greg

    January 14, 2009 at 7:19 pm

  6. Actually I have had a dilemma now for months over this topic. Outlook 2007, Windows Mail, Windows Live Mail, Hotmail(Live) all very confusing.I know Hotmail is online and to me, is the base mail. Windows Mail, I have discarded due to wave 3. Windows live mail & Outlook 2007 have me using one on my desktop, the other on my Laptop. Both have pros and cons, but neither stand out. I obsessively nuts over it. Outlook at least 2007 not express, cost money, Live mail is free. Both RSS leave much to be desired. I seem to have more little problems with Live Mail which I like the overall interface better. Outlook ties in better for my work computer. but do I care about my work computer? I guess if the RSS worked better and Live Calendar integrated better with Outlook calender I would settle for Live Mail which, I really wish had some personalization in it.See what I mean about obsessed with this?

    Bob

    January 14, 2009 at 7:52 pm

  7. Outlook 2007 has never supported RSS to my level of expectation. Yes, having feeds display in the Outlook interface is nice, but it seemed to check for updates too frequently and bog down quickly. Outlook is going to be the way to go if you need to interface with an Exchange server. Plus there are lots of extra features that interact nicely with other Microsoft Office apps. Using the Hotmail Connector, it even pulls that content in pretty reliably. My company uses Lotus Notes (one of the original plagues that was visited upon Egypt), and I was even able to use DAMO (an IBM product) to get Outlook working as my front-end mail client. It’s like a swiss-army knife of messaging. That said, WL Mail is slick as snot (if you forgive the egregious lack of task support).

    Greg

    January 14, 2009 at 8:52 pm

  8. "I wanted to point this out because its very easy to slag a product team off when one does not get what one wants but rarely do product teams get praised when one DOES get what one wants; that’s the stuff that goes unnoticed. When stuff works you take it for granted; and because I build IT systems myself in my day job I know how easily bugs can occur. Perhaps I should remember that next time I’m going off on a tirade (though I probably won’t)."All true, Jamie. Glad you said it. I didn’t know what I wanted until it was provided. So many users have used the service since MSN days. I’ve a newcomer as far as that’s concerned. Started with Hotmail in about March last year (’08). Why so many people have been reporting so many problems across all the Live stuff beats me as I’ve had little if any trouble with any of it. If I ever encountered a problem, patience won out until I’d repaired it. The various "Help" pages were always enough. It’s not as if the Live Team haven’t bent over backwards to accommodate us all. For goodness sake, what more could anyone want? Sorry, I get a bit, well, you know! Hate seeing a good bunch of people uder constant fire. It’s so unnecessary.

    Jen

    January 15, 2009 at 1:24 am

  9. Here is my short one cent (the economy has caused me to no longer give my two cents). Windows Live Mail is wonderful. I do wish it allowed nested folders both otherwise its Wonderful. Live Hotmail is equally good (great). If you need the power of Outlook 2007 no problem, just install the Outlook Connector and all your Live mail works perfectly. Add Windows Live Mail for Windows Mobile and you’ve got everything you need… accept a synchronized mobile calendar (which the Live team claims they are working on). Everything is coming together and I think Microsoft and the Live Team deserve all of our thanks for delivering some wonderful, useful products.

    Calvin

    January 17, 2009 at 4:39 pm


Leave a Reply

