Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

New runway for Heathrow

with one comment

News has come out today that Heathrow will indeed be getting a new runway by 2019/20. This is of particular interest to me because I live very near Heathrow although thankfully I live on the south side (the new runway is to be built to the north, parallel to the two existing runways).

For posterity I thought I’d capture what Heathrow looks like today. The village of Sipson which is due to be destroyed can clearly be seen just above dead centre of the roadmap below:

image

image

Here’s an aerial shot of Sipson today:

image

If you want to check out the area for yourself head here.

I’ve set myself a reminder to come back here in 10 years to see how it has changed. Don’t touch that dial 🙂

 

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

January 15, 2009 at 2:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How can anyone think to get rid of a village? Oh, I mustn’t start. I’ll be back on me soapbox in no time…

    Jen

    January 15, 2009 at 2:53 pm


Leave a Reply

