Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Is anyone else annoyed by…

with 9 comments

…people on your Windows Live network that add the custom blog web activity to their Windows Live Profile for a blog (or indeed any RSS feed) that has got absolutely nothing to do with them?

image

If you’re one of the people doing this then fair enough, that’s up to you. Just to let you know though I shall be hiding all of your updates from my What’s new feed.

Written by Jamiet

February 5, 2009 at 2:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are lots of people doing this?

    Dare

    February 5, 2009 at 2:29 pm

  2. Why choose that when we’ve got the best one – bar none! Simple innit, keep it Live!

    Jen

    February 5, 2009 at 2:32 pm

  3. More than you know.

    Greg

    February 5, 2009 at 2:40 pm

  4. Dare,Depends what you mean by "lots". Its definitely not the majority – more like a handful! But its enough to be annoying!-Jamie

    Jamie

    February 5, 2009 at 2:46 pm

  5. Maybe they don’t get that THEIR Profile is about them, THEIR Web Activities and not the blogs they read/like? Hhmm, unless reading counts as an Web Activity..lol

    Cornelia

    February 5, 2009 at 4:15 pm

  6. I hope I made the cut! Regards,Sean | Neowin.net

    Sean

    February 5, 2009 at 4:28 pm

  7. You’re safe Sean. You’ve got mitigating circumstances :)

    Jamie

    February 5, 2009 at 5:10 pm

  8. I think I may have been a culprit of this – I only had one Custom Blog but it was my friendfeed so it pulled in a lot of stuff because I use it to aggregate a ton of stuff. Coupled with the fact that friendfeed was sending updates to twitter and I have my twitter feed as a web activity as well – I can see how things were getting a bit daft! I’ve removed the friendfeed custom blog now (I’d happily drop friendfeed completely to be honest if I could replicate the syndication it does with Web Activities, but that is not possible at the moment). Any way I hope I have got my feed back under some sort of control from this point forward 😉

    Ian

    February 5, 2009 at 8:30 pm

  9. I have a custom feed – 5 updates a day.QUESTION: why can i not set ALL my permissions in one swoop. WHY must i set everyone individually AND why is my What’s New feed indexed, and there is no way to keep it private without sharing nothing. (it is all or nothing…unlike the granularity which is a bit overzealous)……any ideas?

    Jason

    February 7, 2009 at 11:02 pm


Leave a Reply

