Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

What will happen to www.live.com?

with 7 comments

There’s lots of talk around at the minute about how Microsoft’s Live Search service is soon going to be re-branded, possibly as Kumo. If you want to read more about that then, as ever, Liveside has been following the story closely.

I assume that whatever Live Search does end up being called that the URL will change and that got me thinking; what is going to happen to the current URL, http://www.live.com? That’s an incredibly valuable web property and I’m sure Microsoft won’t want to waste it by simply redirecting visitors to their new search site.

Given that there are now many “live” branded services from Microsoft (offhand I can think of Windows Live, Office Live & XBox Live) I am guessing that http://www.live.com will become a gateway to all of those services. By that I mean it will become a menu of all the live offerings, a place where you can pick and choose what you want to go and partake in. There’s actually a massive opportunity there – an opportunity to sell a “live” lifestyle, one in which Microsoft wants to be an integral part of course. www.live.com becomes the home of your live lifestyle, perhaps in a similar way that Yahoo.com does.

The trouble with that of course is that there are already numerous other URLs under the live.com domain that are trying to be your home page; http://home.live.com & http://my.live.com are obvious examples. Do Microsoft really want to muddy the waters anymore by introducing another? For sure this is something they have to get right first time and I hope there’s a team already in the planning stages for the future www.live.com.

In case they are after any ideas here are some of mine.

For starters I don’t want it to be more bait for their search engine; I’d rather have content that I like pushed to me rather than being invited to go and find it. I don’t want that digital content to be just from MSN either, Microsoft must accept that there are other people out there producing content just as good, if not better, than theirs.

I want my web home page to be useful, much more than any of the options are today; I want it to show me pertinent information. For example, if there’s a TV program coming on soon that I might have indicated that I like (be it implicitly or explicitly) then tell me about it. If a band I like has announced a gig near my house – tell me about it. If one of my friends from out of town is going to be in the area – tell me about it. Most importantly, don’t show me stuff that I’m NOT interested in like most sites do today (http://home.live.com is the top offender in this area). Personalisation hasn’t come a long way since the web was first introduced in the early 90s, there are still huge strides to be made.

How about you? What do you think will be on www.live.com in the future and, moreover, what do you WANT on there?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

March 13, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d shift home.live.com to live.com – sort of makes the most sense.But yes, they should integrate other MS properties into Windows Live’s home feed. XBox, Media Center, Zune/Music…. The Web Activities are a good start.I’d prefer they just moved home.live.com to live.com rather than creating *another* home page. And, yes, update my.live.com and link to it from home.live.com (Personalised News or something?)…

    Ali

    March 14, 2009 at 9:46 am

  2. I just wish MS would improve Live Search, Changing the name to Kumo? or whatever won’t make it any better just more confusing.leave live.com and improve it.

    Bob

    March 15, 2009 at 12:34 pm

  3. i would say that the people would have to vote.

    Steve

    March 18, 2009 at 12:24 pm

  4. Brilliant post Jamie! How on earth did I miss this one! You and I are in complete aggreement about this subject.

    technogran

    November 1, 2009 at 9:57 pm


Leave a Reply

