Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Windows Live Groups pushes out an update

with 4 comments

At some point over the past week some changes were quietly pushed out regarding the way that activity from Windows Live Groups gets exposed in our What’s New feed at http://home.live.com. Here’s a screenshot from my What’s New feed today:

imageThat’s new. Upon release of Windows Live Groups we got notifications about new group discussion threads but we did not get notifications about replies. Don’t underestimate this small change, I expect it to be instrumental in making Windows Live Groups more active. No longer do we need to go and check each and every discussion thread in every group to see if there have been replies hence this has a huge impact on the usability of Windows Live Groups.

Indeed, back in January I posted Laundry list of wants for Windows Live wave 4 where I said:

I only see notifications in my What’s New feed if someone posts a new thread in one of my Groups, I don’t see notifications of replies to threads. I’d like that to change.

My sentiments were echoed by many other Windows Live users so kudos to the Windows Live team for listening and taking such swift action.

 

Incidentally, the first person I know of that noticed this was Jeffrey who, suitably so, posted a discussion thread about it on the All Things Live group.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

March 24, 2009 at 9:53 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jamie: Way I see it – you’d probably still only get updates from people who are in your own Network? Just a thought – for goodness sake, don’t take it as gospel!

    Jen

    March 24, 2009 at 10:43 am

  2. Definitely a welcome change. Thanks for catching it and blogging about it. I knew the had this cooking, but wasn’t sure when it would actually be deployed. Please keep the feedback coming and we’ll hopefully eventually be able to cross even more items off your wish list!Best regards,Marcus

    Marcus

    March 24, 2009 at 5:13 pm

  3. Is there a way to get email notifications (or some other sort) when there is a reply to a discussion in your and not just in your "What’s new" feed? I have quite a few contacts… and the feed shows lots of stuff about them, so, replies to discussions I’m interested in get queued… and I never see them.

    Juan Gabriel

    April 3, 2009 at 2:12 am

  4. Juan,Unfortunately not, no.

    Jamie

    April 3, 2009 at 6:21 am


Leave a Reply

