Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Web activities for Live Groups

with 3 comments

I’ve been using Twitter for a couple of years now and over that time the way I used it has changed quite a bit. Whereas I used to use it purely for sending out my own tweets and listening to what my friends were saying I’m now finding it much more fulfilling to use Tweetdeck to find out what other people are saying about things I’m interested in. Just in the last week I’ve been tracking what people are saying about the G20 conference, the Rugby league Challenge Cup, the Malaysian Grand Prix and the latest Leeds United match.

image

Tracking real-time news is what makes Twitter so compelling and that will only increase as more and more people climb on board and realise the power of hashtags and Twitter search for tracking information that interests them.

 

This realisation of why Twitter is going to be so important started me thinking about the similarities with Windows Live Groups; after all, the idea of WL Groups is to give people who have a common interest to congregate in a single place online. In my opinion it would make great sense to combine the two and allow us to view Twitter search results at a Group home page? Better still, allow us to track activity from multiple places around the web? That’s what led me to submit the following at https://feedback.live.com/default.aspx?productkey=wlgroups:

Allow us the ability to add web activities to a Live Group. These wouldn’t be the same as web activities on http://profile.live.com however, instead they would allow us to build activity feeds of content pertinent to the group. For example, http://gettanked.groups.live.com/ (a Scuba Diving group) could pull in activity from http://search.twitter.com/search?q=scuba.

As regular readers will know I believe there’s a lot of potential in Live Groups and adding this feature would, I think, make it even more compelling. There’s gold in those tweets, better to mine it than ignore it.

-Jamie

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, story, groups, feedback

Written by Jamiet

April 5, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very interesting idea! Although I do not actually use Twitter….I know, its shocking. I could see a lot of potential if something like this was to be implemented!

    Gaz

    April 5, 2009 at 7:51 pm

  2. I’ll be quite happy if Windows Live Groups can catch up to the level of Google Groups or Yahoo Groups.

    Theo

    April 13, 2009 at 8:20 am

  3. The Zen,What, in your opinion, does it need to do in order to achieve that?

    Jamie

    April 13, 2009 at 8:59 am


Leave a Reply

