Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Linked Live IDs

with 6 comments

Linked Live IDs are a little known feature of Windows Live so now that the Windows Live community clubhouse is in full swing I thought I’d draw some attention to them and perhaps suggest some ways that the feature could evolve in the future.

Linking Live IDs enables you to seamlessly switch between them while on Windows Live web properties. Once you have linked together your Live IDs (more on that in a minute) you can easily switch between them using the dropdown menu that appears in the top-right of every Windows Live page. Observe:

image

This is a very useful feature if you have multiple Live IDs (which many of us do). I also have my mum’s Live ID as one of my Linked Live IDs which means that when I’m giving her IT support on Windows Live over the phone (as I frequently do) then I can pretend that I am logged on as her and see exactly what she is seeing which is very useful indeed.

So, how do you link your Live IDs together? Well, its very simple. You can either select “Link other accounts” from the menu depicted above or simply click on this link: https://account.live.com/managelinks.aspx which (at the time of writing) will take you straight to the page where you manage your Linked Live IDs. Once there the process is self-explanatory.

 

So that is Linked Live IDs. They’re very useful and I use them a lot however there’s potential for them being used a lot lot more across Windows Live and other Microsoft properties than they are today. Currently Linked Live IDs are only accessible via Windows Live; I can’t, for example, access my Linked Live IDs from www.mesh.com which would be rather handy. Neither can I do the same from any of the Windows Live Essentials tools (i.e. Messenger, Toolbar, Photo Gallery, Mail, Writer).

Moreover I’d like the ability to switch between my Linked Live IDs on my Windows Mobile phone; I have Windows Live for Windows Mobile installed which enables me to get full syncing for my email and log into Messenger, it would be cool if I could simply switch to my Linked Live IDs there as well.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

April 18, 2009 at 11:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Since Live doesn’t provide a proxy view, linked ID’s are also useful to check how you various Live properties look from different kinds of ID’s perspectives, i.e., one not on your network, one in a certain category, etc. It makes it easy to stay on the same page yet switch to another type of visitor. I used them for checking security settings, etc. as well. Nice post!

    Jeffrey

    April 18, 2009 at 11:18 am

  2. Jeffrey,Very very good point. I too use them for that reason.

    Jamie

    April 18, 2009 at 11:37 am

  3. Very informative.

    Mike

    April 19, 2009 at 1:10 am

  4. i dont care

    jack

    April 20, 2009 at 2:50 pm

  5. thanks Jack, comment much appreciated!!

    Jamie

    April 20, 2009 at 2:53 pm

  6. The only problem with these is that if one of your accounts is compromised, all of them are. I’m not sure how well Windows Live deals with this kind of stuff.

    crestind

    April 25, 2009 at 4:37 am


Leave a Reply

