Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Bing and Windows Live

with 5 comments

I’m sure many of you reading this will be aware that Microsoft today announced a new search engine called Bing (not live at the time of writing).

I’ve been checking out the videos at http://www.discoverbing.com/behindbing/videos.aspx and was excited to see a very cool new feature that integrates with Windows Live. You can now save the results of your searches into your Windows Live Skydrive so that you can access those results at a later date or, if you think those results might interest other people, you can share the results with your Windows Live network via Windows Live Favorites. Here’s a shot from the video that shows that happening:

image

And here’s the whole video:

(If the video doesn’t appear here then go and check it out at http://www.discoverbing.com/behindbing/videos.aspx and find a video called “Kumo Session history”)

Cool stuff. Paul Dawson who heads up the User Experience team at EMC Conchango (my place of work) often talks about using search engines as “scrapbooks” and this new feature in Bing is a great example of that.

I’ve talked at length in the past about how Skydrive could be used by 3rd parties for online storage and here is the first really great example of that although unfortunately it won’t be available to anyone outside of Microsoft until an API appears which, as I’ve said before, I am pretty sure will happen when Live Mesh fully arrives.

In the meantime its fun to consider the capabilities that online storage of search results could deliver. The aforementioned Mr Dawson often gives the analogy of teenagers tearing cuttings out of clothing brochures and taking them with them on shopping sprees; what if they didn’t have to take those cuttings with them, instead they just stored them from Bing and were later able to access them on a mobile phone? That’s the sort of compelling experience that should be available in the not too distant future and I’ll bet that mobile access to stored search results is high on the agenda of the Bing team (think app stores and mobile marketplaces, people).

Interesting stuff. I’m really looking forward to playing with Bing when it becomes available in 6 days time!

-Jamie

In the clubhouse: clubhouse, story, bing, skydrive, favorites
Written by Jamiet

May 28, 2009 at 9:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I went off to see the vids. They’re not working properly from that link. Not your fault Jamie, it’s the lack of reasonable internet access. But, I searched the site a bit further and found another page with a video which did, thankfully, work, followed by some written news. I’m impressed. Will this roll out to everywhere?

    Jen

    May 28, 2009 at 9:55 pm

  2. Jen,I don’t know to be honest. Given their reputation garnered over the past few years I strongly suspect that no, not all features will be available everywhere outside the US.-Jamie

    Jamie

    May 28, 2009 at 10:25 pm

  3. Ah well. Never got to see Kumo either. Live search does some rather fancy stuff anyway and, since I’m used to it, that’ll do. Cheers, Jamie:-)

    Jen

    May 28, 2009 at 10:28 pm

  4. So it’s finally here (soon!) and called Bing. I heard Bing is an acronym, for "But It’s Not Google!" – my bad! LOL! Anyway, it looks awesome and should be a formidable contender. I already use Live as my default search so switching to Bing should be automatic I assume?? Anyway, I love the SkyDrive integration, and I too look forward to Mesh "fully arriving."

    Jeffrey

    May 28, 2009 at 10:45 pm


Leave a Reply

