Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, words and deeds

Microsoft Billing need to update their emails

with 6 comments

I just received an email from Microsoft Billing telling me that my Hotmail Plus subscription had been renewed for the next 12 months. No issue with that, I’m an avid user of Hotmail Plus (only 14.99GBP a year) because it allows me to browse Windows Live without seeing any ads.

What struck me as strange though was the listing of benefits that Hotmail Plus provides:

  • the ability to send larger attachments
  • 10 Gigabytes of total Windows Live Hotmail account space
  • exemption from the account expiration policy
  • No third party advertising

Perhaps someone should tell whomever manages Hotmail Plus that regular Hotmail offers everyone ever-increasing storage space so their boast about 10GB of storage is a little bit shallow! Just a thought!

@Jamiet

clubhouse Tags: clubhouse, story, feedback

Written by Jamiet

September 27, 2009 at 10:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I suppose that kind of storage is handy for those who are popular and get mega amounts of email, but hey, I still clear out my Inbox;-)

    Jen

    September 28, 2009 at 1:11 pm

  2. It seems that the line between regular old Hotmail and Hotmail Plus continues to blur. I’ve been using Hotmail since 1997 (with my current account since 2000). I considered paying for a Hotmail Plus account several years ago, when it seemed there were obvious benefits, including increased storage, higher attachment limits, no ads for visitors to my Space, and the ability to use OWA to manage my Hotmail. Nowadays, it seems that most of that is covered in some form or fashion by the current feature set of Windows Live+Essentials, so I don’t understand how Microsoft continues to market a premium version of the service, unless it’s somehow bundled with other services through your ISP. Don’t get me wrong, I really like Windows Live, and if Microsoft we’re able to offer some truly "gee whiz" premium features, then I might be inclined to look at a paid subscription again.

    Greg

    September 28, 2009 at 1:22 pm

  3. Greg, I forgot who told me this the other day, but there is some sort of arrangement with Windows Hotmail you can have when signed up with a particular internet provider. Personally, I don’t see the need to pay for anything, either. X

    X-Evolutionist

    September 28, 2009 at 3:23 pm

  4. I think this is what MSFT calls a "known issues" :)

    Jason

    September 28, 2009 at 3:54 pm

  5. lol

    Sean

    October 11, 2009 at 8:50 am

  6. Aye up Jamie,Thanks for popping by, sorry I haven’t replied sooner – didn’t notice your comment in the depths of a two week old blog !LOLI’ll need to spend some time looking through your space here.CheersC

    Chris

    October 13, 2009 at 9:32 pm


Leave a Reply

