Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Things that I hope Microsoft announce at CES

with 2 comments

Steve Ballmer’s keynote is this evening and there are some wild rumours flying about regarding what he’s going to announce. Here’s what I’m hoping for:

Comments in red were added after the keynote

  • Zune services (including Zune Pass) to expand internationally They didn’t announce this
  • News about Windows Mobile 7 No news about Windows Mobile 7
  • Zune branded movie and music streaming services coming to laptops and phones as well as XBox 360, all available from Zune Pass No news here
  • Release plans for Natal Yep, they told us this. It’ll be in time for christmas 2010.
  • BBC iPlayer on XBox 360 and Windows Phones Nothing
  • Ford Sync to expand internationally (more of a Ford thing really but its my blog so I can write it here if I want to) Nada (though there was one glimmer of hope from @wegotserved)
  • Touchwall to become a real product Nope
  • Some news, any news, about FrameIt; hopefully some partners with affordable RSS-capable digital photo frames Nothing at all

Any thoughts?

So all in all, very disappointing!

Written by Jamiet

January 6, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d absolutely love to see something Zune-branded for Windows Media Center. I have multiple 7MC boxes in my home, and I’d definitely love a monthly fixed-rate subscription service for all the movies and music I can enjoy with my Media Center remote. Screw Netflix and Rhapsody. C’mon, throw us a bone, Microsoft!Zune integration with Windows Mobile/Phone (or whatever the hell they decide to call it) 7 would be the icing on the cake. Now you’ve got me yearning, Jamie. Dang.

    Greg

    January 6, 2010 at 3:18 pm

  2. I’d like the Zune product manager to take back his comment that they want Zune HD to be the best media player and nothing more. I want the hear an announcement about a few useful, non-game apps being released. The Twitter app shows they can do it.Following up on Greg’s comment, I’d like to see a movie subscription for Zune HD whether it is an alliance with Netflix like in Media Center or a Zune streaming video subscription. Regardless, let me stream TV and movies to my Zune HD, please!

    Brien

    January 6, 2010 at 4:43 pm


Leave a Reply

