Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Hotmail Sweep missing a trick

with 3 comments

I have been looking forward to getting upgraded to Hotmail wave 4 because it has a feature that I was expecting would prove very useful to me – namely “Sweep”. Unfortunately now that upgrade has happened I find that in actual fact I can’t make use of Sweep like I had hoped, let me explain.
I have an email account, that I access via Hotmail, which I use for subscriptions to various email mailing lists. I have only been using the account for about two months and already it has topped one thousand emails
image
When I heard about Sweep I thought this would be a great way to automatically shift all of those emails into a dedicated folder for each mailing list. Unfortunately when I attempted to setup the sweep this is what I saw:
image
See the problem here? When I attempt to setup the sweep it invites me to sweep all emails from the person that sent the original message (i.e. esquel@….) whereas what I need is to sweep all emails from the mailing list alias (i.e. sqlserver-mvp-nda @ mstechdiscussions.com).
I can’t really complain because Sweep is working as advertised though I hope it can be expanded to provide this extra functionality in the future. This problem (i.e. sorting email from mailing lists) is one that Hotmail Sweep is perfectly suited to solve.
clubhouse Tags: clubhouse, story, hotmail
Written by Jamiet

July 31, 2010 at 9:33 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d also like the option to sweep all messages from a given domain. Let’s be sure to let the development team know about these concerns. If they get enough feedback, maybe they can implement the requested features before the product is final.

    Greg

    July 31, 2010 at 10:48 am

  2. Thanks for expressing this(and Winston for sharing your write-up). That’s exactly how I wanted it to work too.
    -Elise

    Elise

    October 10, 2010 at 6:40 am

  3. Hi Elise,
    Where did Winston mention it?

    Jamiet

    October 10, 2010 at 8:16 am


Leave a Reply

