Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Childhood memories on Bing today

leave a comment »

I usually don’t have cause to visit any search engines home page -be it Google, Bing or anything else- as searching directly from your browser is so easy though today I stumbled upon Bing (http://www.bing.com/?mkt=en-gb) and was delighted to see that my home county of Yorkshire is featured as the photo background as part of today’s Yorkshire Day celebration.

staithes, yorkshire day, bing

Not only is Yorkshire Day being highlighted but the village featured in the photo is actually the beautiful coastal village of Staithes, the one time home of Captain Cook, that I used to visit on childhood holidays back in the 80s. I have happy memories of standing on that bridge watching the fishing boats coming in and out of the harbour, looking forward to enjoying one of their catch with a newspaper full of chips later that evening.

As luck would have it I am writing this blog post whilst here in Yorkshire for the weekend visiting family. It is lovely to see my home county featured so prominently and I am as proud to be a Yorkshireman today as I have ever been.

Written by Jamiet

August 1, 2010 at 8:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

