Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, words and deeds

Thoughts on Kinect and virtual conferences

with 3 comments

Steve Clayton’s blog post Is Avatar Kinect the Star Trek Holodeck in beta? has got me thinking about where Kinect will pop up in the future. Steve had the following thought:

I’m wondering if I can start using the newsroom set that is included to broadcast What’s Next News with my Avatar

This got my mind whirring and for some reason I casted it back to Microsoft’s recent PDC 2011 conference which was streamed live over the web. By all accounts this was a pretty successful endeavour so I wouldn’t be surprised to see it happen again and if/when it does I wonder whether people will ever be able to “attend” sessions virtually using Kinect? I have this image in my head of a presenter standing in a sparsely populated lecture theatre talking not only to other people in the room but also to thousands of Kinect avatars all of whom can interact – they could ask questions, change their viewing angle, perhaps even glance around the room, just as easily as if they were attending in person.

There could even be a business model here for an organisation that wants to run their own virtual seminars upon Kinect and XBox Live.

Too far fetched? Let me know what you think!

@Jamiet

Written by Jamiet

January 10, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jamie Thomson and Mark Wilson. Mark Wilson said: RT @jamiet: Thoughts on Kinect and virtual conferences http://bit.ly/hhKTd8 ^MW Nice idea but maybe a bit too virtual (and gimmicky?) for me […]

  2. That could be really cool, I wonder what it would be like to interact with the vendors and all the other aspects of an event outside the learning.

    Chris Shaw

    January 11, 2011 at 9:41 pm

  3. […] Thoughts on Kinect and virtual conferences: jamiekt.wordpress.com […]


Leave a Reply

