Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Questions I have about Windows 8

with one comment

Windows 8 was unveiled publicly for the first time less than 12 hours ago and upon seeing the sugar-coated videos and demos I have a few questions.

  • Do the new  HTML5/JavaScript apps rely on IE on can they use the default browser? (Or, are IE and Windows now inextricably linked)
  • Do I have to login with my Windows Live ID or can I (for example) login with my Facebook account?
  • What with this “store” tile? More info please!
  • What happens to Windows Live Essentials? Are they even relevant anymore?
  • Will Windows Phone apps work on Windows 8 (and vice versa)?
  • Will I be able to view more than two applications at a time using the new snap feature? So far I have only seen two at a time in the demos.

And some questions relevant to my other life

  • Will SQL Server leverage these new live tile things?
  • Can we expect to see a SSRS report appear as a live tile?
  • Will some 3rd party vendor build an app that displays SQL Server perf metrics as a live tile?
Written by Jamiet

June 2, 2011 at 10:26 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seems you could make a living writing on Microsoft. I always enjoy reading your thoughts/questions/criticisms/etc.

    Brian

    June 23, 2011 at 2:40 pm


Leave a Reply

